Extra! Korea

July 28, 2009

Choi Han-bit becomes Korea’s first transgender transsexual supermodel

Filed under: gender equality, rapid cultural change — extrakorea @ 11:42 pm

According to Korea Beat and All K Pop, Choi Han-bit, whom I’ve mentioned before, has successfully passed the second round of a contest to become Korea’s first transgender transsexual supermodel.
In a speech he it she said:

“Looking back, the situation I’m in would have seemed impossible to me as a child. I’m just so happy to be here right now and I want to become a dignified supermodel as well as a great role model. I would like to thank my parents for actively supporting me through the surgery and the pursuit of my dreams.
I would like to send a message to any other transgenders transsexuals. Be dignified and proud of who you are.”

The contest’s final round will be held on September 25th.

Edit/Update:

Take a look at this picture. Some of the other contestants look more masculine, not to mention less attractive, than Choi.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

